BREAKING: Tinubu, Others Get New Roles As Senate Reshuffles Standing Committees


Senator Oluremi Tinubu was among the senators who got new committees when the Nigerian Senate reshuffled the standing committees on Thursday, July 21. gathered that Senate president Bukola Saraki announced this towards the end of plenary session while some senators were announced to head some of these committees.

Some of these senators include: Senator Kabiru Marafa representing Zamfara central senatorial district was appointed as the chairman of Downstream Petroleum, Senator Oluremi Tinubu representing Lagos central senatorial district as chairman on Senate committee on environment and Senator Suleiman Hunkuyi representing Kaduna Central senatorial district as chairman, Senate committee on National Identity.

It was reported that most of the juicy committees were given to the members of the Unity Forum.

However, the Senate on Tuesday, November 24, inaugurated eleven committees.

They include the Senate committees on health, works, power, housing, federal character territory, marine transport, land transport, aviation, trade and investment, industry and capital market.

While inaugurating the committees, Saraki said that the members of the committees were selected based on competence.

Also, he expressed confidence in the lawmakers stating that he was sure that they were up to the task.

He also urged the chairmen and vice chairmen not to build a one man show but should let the input of the committee members show in their work.

The Senate already inaugurated 28 committees making a total of 39 committees out of 65 standing committees.

Check out the Full List here:

1)Senator Hope Uzodinma, Chairman, Senate Committee on Customs

2)Senator Adamu Aliero, Chairman Senate Committee on Aviation

3)Senator Oluremi Tinubu, Chairman, Senate Committee on Environment

4)Senator Kabiru Marafa, Chairman, Senate Committee on Downstream Petroleum

5)Senator Jibrin Barau, Chairman, Senate Committee on Tertiary Institutions and TETFUND

6)Senator Binta Marsi Garba, Chairman, Senate Committee on Women Affairs

7)Senator Joshua Dariye, Chairman, Senate Committee on Public Procurement

8)Senator James Manager, Chairman, Senate Committee on Solid Minerals

9)Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe, Chairman, Senate Committee on Power

10Senator Hunkuyi Suleiman, Chairman, Senate Committee on National Identity

11)Senator Suleiman Adokwe, Chairman, Senate Committee on National Orientation and Information

12)Senator Jide Omoworare, Chairman, Senate Committee on Legislative Compliance

13)Senator Baba Kaka Garbai, Chairman, Senate Committee on Rules and Business

14)Senator Tijani Kaura, Chairman, Senate Committee on Federal Character

15) Senator Ahmed Ogembe, Vice-Chairman, Senate Committee on Marine Transport

16)Senator Omo Agege, Vice-Chairman, Senate Committee on Land Transport

17)Senator Philip Aduda, Vice-Chairman, Senate Committee on Downstream Petroleum

What Others Are Reading Right Now!
is an Associate at MediaHoarders. Communication Manager & Social Media Strategist with a keen interest in writing. Jeffery is a huge fan of the Black Panther fictional character. He is currently at crossroads when it concerns his interests in Hip-Hop & Rock music. e-mail:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.