Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Beats Yaya Toure To African Player Award


Gabon and Borussia Dortmund star Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang has won the 2015 Glo-CAF African Footballer of the Year award, ending the dominance of Cote d’Ivoire and Manchester City Star Yaya Toure.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Beats Yaya Toure To African Player Award 4

Toure had won the award for four straight years before ending up behind Aubameyan on Thursday in Abuja.

Ghana and Swansea City Star, Andre Ayew was the second runner up.

Gabonese striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (R) poses with the African Footballer of the Year Award as President of African Football Confederation (CAF) Issa Hayatou  (L) looks on during 2015 Glo-CAF Awards in Abuja, on December 7, 2016. AFP PHOTO/PIUS UTOMI EKPEI / AFP / PIUS UTOMI EKPEI        (Photo credit should read PIUS UTOMI EKPEI/AFP/Getty Images)

Aubameyang has been in phenomenal form for Dortmund this season, scoring 27 goals in all competitions in as many appearances.

Born in 1989, he started his career at Milan before joining Saint Ettienne in 2011 after four loan spells with clubs in France.

The 26-year-old joined Dortmund in 2013 and has since made a mark on the German club, winning two DFL Supercup in 2013 and 2014.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Beats Yaya Toure To African Player Award 3

Although Dortmund has no desire to sell the player, several top clubs are interested in signing him with reports emerging on Thursday that Arsenal may bid for him.

With a transfer fee expected to be as high as £60m, long-term admirer Arsene Wenger may opt to look elsewhere for talent.

What Others Are Reading Right Now!
is an Associate at MediaHoarders. Communication Manager & Social Media Strategist with a keen interest in writing. Jeffery is a huge fan of the Black Panther fictional character. He is currently at crossroads when it concerns his interests in Hip-Hop & Rock music. e-mail: odilijeffery@mediahoarders.ng


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.